Board of Directors

Board of Directors

David Palumbo, Chief Executive Officer

David Palumbo is an experienced entrepreneur with 20 years’ experience in private equity, business development and asset management.  Since 2006, David has founded and co-founded a number of companies in various industries such as renewable energy, wealth management, property and real estate.  David is the Founding and Managing Partner of Origen Capital LLP (“Origen”), a private investment firm representing family offices and private consortia in Europe, CIS and Latin America.  He has a B.Sc and a M.Sc in electrical engineering.


Gerry Madden, Finance Director

Gerry Madden joined EQTEC plc in  May 2007 as Finance Director, and was Chief Executive from 2011 to 2017. He previously founded and operated a corporate finance practice between 1998 and 2007, advising UK and Irish companies on corporate finance activities and business strategy. During this period he also acted as a Non-Executive director for companies in the technology, healthcare, retail and renewable energy sectors. He originally worked for 16 years with international accountants KPMG and was auditor and adviser to listed companies, multinationals and private companies operating in Ireland and internationally. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Ireland, a graduate of University College Cork and a Member of the Institute of Directors.


Yoel Aleman, Chief Technology Officer

Yoel Alemán Méndez is an experienced chemical engineer with over 20 years’ experience in Biomass Gasification.  He has designed, built and operated gasification facilities of various industrial capacities, is the author of three technology patents related to specialty power generation, has been a University Associated Professor and Researcher at three universities and holds a PhD in chemical engineering.  Prior to his appointment to the senior management of the Company in June 2019, Yoel was the Chief Technical Officer of EQTEC Iberia from April 2010.


Ian Pearson, Non-Executive Chairman

Ian was for five years the chairman of AIM listed OVCT2, a company which invested in a variety of renewal energy companies and was successfully merged into Apollo VCT plc last year. He is currently a Non-Executive Director of Thames Water Utilities Limited, the UK’s biggest water company with 15 million customers, and is Chairman of CODE Investing Ltd. He is also a senior adviser to BAI Communications plc and has previously been a member of the UK Advisory Board of the accountants, PwC. During a distinguished Ministerial career from 2001-10 Ian Pearson held a number of positions, including Minister for Trade & Foreign Affairs, Minister of State for Climate Change and the Environment, Minister for Science, and Economic Secretary to the Treasury. He graduated from Balliol College, Oxford and has a Master’s degree and a Doctorate in Industrial and Business Studies from the University of Warwick.


Tom Quigley, Non-Executive Director

Tom Quigley has had an executive career spanning over 25 years, mainly at board level, as Managing Director, CFO and CIO. This included being a Managing Director of Close Brothers Corporate Finance, a Managing Director and Head of the Retail, Hospitality and Leisure sector investment banking at ING Barings, London, and a Director of Terra Firma Capital Partners. Tom originally qualified as a Chartered Accountant at Price Waterhouse in London and has amassed considerable financial and management experience across multiple sectors. Through his executive and non-executive positions, Tom has worked in real estate, financial services, healthcare and banking, and across a number of jurisdictions.